Navratri -festival of 9 nights

Navratri is important festival celebrated with great zeal all over India. During this occasion people worship Hindu deity ma durga. It is nine nights festival that’s why it is called navratri,these days are devoted to ma durga or nine swaroops of Ma adishakti, symbol of power and purity. Navratri, great period of devotional sadhna and dhyan and also known as navdurga puja.

Jai mata dèe


Navratri falls five times in a year

  1. vasnta navratri/chaitra navratri
  2. ashadha navratri
  3. sharad navratri
  4. paush/magha navratri


  • Vasanta/chaitra navratri and sarad navratri are more important. chaitra navratri (march-April) is the beginning of New Year according to the Hindu calendar.
  • Sarad navratri is celebrated in the pratipada of the bright fortnight of ashwin month it is celebrated in the beginning of winter season (September -October).
  • First 3 days of navratri is devoted to ma durga, next 3 days to ma lakshmi and last 3 days dedicated to the ma saraswati, goddess of knowledge and wisdom.
  • Navratri is the festival of joy and prosperity, followed by feasting and fasting, havan, puja and dans. People perform arti chant mantras and devi stuti and devoteeies of ma durga or amba eat satvik ahar(food) and  kanya puja farmed last day, mostly have fruits and take food only at night.

During navratri nine forms of navdurga worshiped –

  1. Sailputri
  2. Brahamcharini
  3. Chandraghanta
  4. Kushmanda
  5. Skanda mata
  6. Katyayani
  7. Kaalratri
  8. Mahagauri
  9. Siddhidatri



Tagged with:

Filed under: Uncategorized

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!